Reveiws

CYCLING MALLORCA – Reviews!

Ashley Crumbley
Ashley Crumbley
2021-08-28
An exceptional service from Paul. I completely agree with the other 5 star reviews. If you are considering cycling on the island my counsel is to contact Paul before looking at bike hire or booking hotels. Paul secures substantial discounts and not just on cycle hire. He is well respected locally so he can secure discounts on hotels. As for cycling, I fell heavily on the first day. Paul patched me up and after a rest day he then reassessed my condition then adapted the rest of my week. He accommodates a wide range of cycling abilities from casual riders, cyclotourists, club riders to serious competitive riders. His knowledge of the routes, climbs and places of interest is impressive. Customer care comes naturally to Paul and he is great company.
Michael Billington
Michael Billington
2021-08-10
Only booked boat trip tickets, but owner was really helpful and informative.
Vicki Franklin
Vicki Franklin
2021-06-13
Had a great ride up Cap Formentor with Paul and a few others in the group. Paul was super easy to coordinate with and I came off the ride enjoying it way more than I thought I would! Great group and such good fun. Hope to be back soon and in the meantime would defo recommend for any level!
paul carr
paul carr
2020-09-14
Fantastic Thai food Best I have tasted Smiling staff our owner We go again abd again Thanks
Emily Field
Emily Field
2020-08-24
Paul was an amazing guide through Mallorca! Show us a bunch of different routes over 4 days and provided high quality bikes. Would highly recommend!
Charlotte Scott
Charlotte Scott
2020-08-24
I would very much recommend booking with Cycling Holiday Tours Mallorca. Paul was very friendly and encouraging and took us on some great rides in Mallorca. The bikes provided were also good quality and nice and light for getting up the hills!
Danielle Gubbay
Danielle Gubbay
2020-08-21
We went out as a group of 4 over 4 mornings with Paul who showed us some incredible parts of the island. We had some challenging cycles and Paul made sure the group was always safe and having fun! Couldn’t recommend him enough !!
glenn carter
glenn carter
2020-03-07
Just got back from an outstanding 3 days cycling in Mallorca. The trip was made perfect by Paul and Steve and their infectious enthusiasm in everything they do. I was travelling alone but from the pickup at the airport to the drop off, I did not feel alone. I arranged my flights, but Paul and Steve arranged the Hotel, Bike Hire and guided cycle routes. The Hotel was the 4-star Iberostar in Calla Millor, which had great facilities and an amazing choice of food. The bike I hired was great to ride, it was a Pinarello carbon ultegra, which was fitted for my size and was very well maintained. I went on three rides which Steve and Paul determined based upon my ability. They were a mixture of undulating country lanes and climbs of distances from 40 miles to 60 miles, which were gladly interrupted by some great Café coffee and cake stops. I will be returning at some point in the future and would recommend as Paul and Steve will do their utmost to ensure you achieve your goals and have an enjoyable time. Many thanks Paul and Steve.
Steve MurphysLaw
Steve MurphysLaw
2017-09-10
These lads know what they are doing ,

Reviews & Testimonials

“I’ve just completed 14 days of outstanding cycling with Paul and his colleagues based in Cala Millor. He organized the transfers seamlessly and arranged my accommodation at the Hotel Morito which was excellent.
 
A great room, really good food, and very friendly staff throughout the property.
 
With that as a backdrop, Paul tailored each day’s cycling routes to meet my skill level, interests in varied terrain, and different locations on the Island.
 
He’s a great guide, knows the Island (including the great coffee stops) intimately, and makes the cycling holiday all about you.
This was my second trip to Mallorca, the first time in Cala Millor, and definitely the best.
 
Well done Paul, see you again.”
 
– Murray Robinson, Vancouver, Canada, August 2021

Just back from a great 4 day trip with Paul. Six 50+ yr old largely social cyclists.

Paul arranged transfers, bikes, half-board hotel, and rides with minibus when needed.

Stayed in Hotel Atolon which has a superb situation right by the sea – great for a post-ride beer.

The rooms had great views and showers and the food was excellent.

Bikes were all first class – I had a Pinarello Razha with Ultegra Di2 – better than at home!

Nice mixture of climbs (including Sa calibre) and flat.

Paul and Rob guidance made a huge difference and they will select rides to any standard as needed.

Highly recommended as a warmer option for cycling!

Great individualized service and hope to return next year

– Cheers Paul!

Peter, Durham, UK, 2017

First of all super thanks for putting together a great tour for us all.  It is clear that everybody seriously enjoyed the adventure. You and your team worked so very hard on our behalf and ensured that we were well looked after both on the bikes and off them.

As always it is managing the hiccups well that keeps the show on the road and you all did – the long days, late nights, early mornings, wounded soldiers, wingeing punters (to name but a few) got dealt with. I enjoyed it all immensely and just want to add my appreciation to the feedback.

The following is just my personal experience and thoughts – trust some of it is useful. What worked really well for me:

  • smooth pick up and drop off at the airport (thanks to Rob and Andy)
  • all-round service at the hotel Atholon
  • really first-class;
  • having the probable routes and distances for each day before arriving
  • accompanied ride on my first day (thank you Andy) and a chance to acclimatise
  • baggage transferred from location to location
  • option for day bag in the van
  • knowing that, should I have a problem (mechanical or physical), there were backup arrangements (the van and Rob on the tail end)
  • top up water available on the van
  • hotels pre-arranged, pre-booked, paid for
  • decent breakfast and evening meal arranged so that it was not necessary to seek out somewhere after a long day’s ride
  • local knowledge in terms of excellent bike routes and places to stop en route- being able to go at my own pace up the climbs and not feeling pressured
  • a solid lead out down the long hill into Soller (thank you Paul)
  • the generous hospitality of the Citric Hotel in the face of an impromptu toga party in their lobby
  • lunch at Rafa’s – a lovely treat
  • getting back safe and sound to the Hotel Atolon
  • fab Bicci water bottles (thank you Paul)

….. no doubt there are other things I have forgotten but a pretty amazing list 🙄of

Things that would be on my wish list for next time:

  • more accurate details of the metres climbing involved each day before arriving
  • both the strava and garmin files for each day, that was circulated beforehand, were excellent in terms of routes but the metres of ascent/descent was seriously adrift.

Not sure why, but I do know Garmin can be misleading. I have attached the distances and climbing involved that we actually did for the days of the tour below and am reasonably confident, after comparing with others, that they are in the right ballpark. These might be useful guidelines in the future?

Not everybody needs these but I find it a great help to know what I am in for and most regular club riders have an idea of what they can do in a day so can gauge the extent to which they can cruise or need to push the boat out 😳 –

  • a bit more detail at the start of each day about likely stops, length of climbs about to be tackled, possible obstacles/issues, options etc..-
  • a tad more attention to maintaining overall road riding etiquette to stay safe as a group –
  • signalling turns early enough, pairing up/singling out, stopping safely as a group.  Not sure about your liabilities if an accident occurred in Spain but know the UK is tightening up on cyclists and the french have been ferocious in limiting UK tour guiding on the slopes…….-
  • more family-run hotels …… would be happy to pay more to be at places like the Citric; happy to forfeit a pool; happy not to be all-inclusive; happy to go find a restaurant if needs be; happy to not always be on the seafront…….
  • – a satnav for the van 😎

Trust the lady’s week is going well already and the winter treats you well. 

Many thanks indeed for a memorable week’s cycling 🚴🏻 SallyCala Bona to Arta and on to Ermitage Belem – 50K and 650m up Cala Bona to Arta and back – 32K and 300mCala Bona – Arcudia – Formentura – Porto Alcudia – 105K and 1200mPorto Alcudia – Pollenca – Soller – 79K and 1200mSoller – Palma – d’Arenal – 121K and 1700mD’Arenal – Cura – Manacor – Cala Bona – 83K and 850m

 
AW”Booked a short 5 day trip to Cala Bona in October through Paul.
When deciding, Paul was excellent in his response to my questions.
 
The price was very reasonable and included Half Board accommodation, all cycle hire (really good bike) and organized cycling trips.
At the last minute, my wife decided to join me and Paul was able to accommodate this last-minute change (my wife sunbathed while we went out cycling).
 
As a novice cyclist (I had only previously cycled 26 miles until my trip), Paul made me feel at ease.
On arrival, Paul helped to select and adjust a road bike.
 
Day 1: of cycling was in the mountains (Sa Calobra) but Paul recognized my limitations and suggested I use the support vehicle for the first climb, after which I cycled all the way to the top – in total 27 miles.
 
The view and experience were amazing.
 
Day 2: was a 32 miler with some small hills but mostly flat, finishing along the coast road.
 
Day 3: (34 miler) my legs were suffering but Paul stayed with me offering encouragement and coaching. Apart from the top of Sa Calobra, my lasting memory will be an 8% 1.5km climb with Paul by my side coaching me (and the rest of the crew at the top cheering me on)!
After each cycle, we all met up for a cool-down drink and social.
The group I was in was mixed in terms of experience (one Iron Man competitor, several other experienced cyclists, and one other novice) – they were all very friendly.
 
Despite my inexperience, I was made to feel very welcome and was supported throughout by the ’team’.
 
The accommodation was comfortable (Hotel Sur) but we migrated to the Atolon Hotel which was very nice.
 
The support team (Andy and Rob along with Miguel in the cycle shop) were very encouraging and helpful.
 
If you’re a novice or experienced cyclist I would certainly recommend Paul and Cycling Holiday Tours Majorca
 
– Paul caters to all abilities and manages the trips very well allowing the experienced cyclists to push themselves while also supporting and coaching the less experienced.
 
I will definitely consider re-booking but next time hope to complete all of Sa Calobra if possible!!   My wife also enjoyed the break and enjoyed the socials after – we both had a great time – thanks Paul.”

Craig and Andree McKenzie

“All in all this was truly the best trip ever and we highly recommend paul, make sure he takes you for cortado and cake!

You won’t have a choice!!”

Martin.  What a superb service offered by Paul!  The Atalon hotel represents very good value. Good food, an excellent location, a large pool and lovely views.

The carbon road bikes are well maintained and of good quality with Di2 bikes (available as an upgrade) and e-bikes also available, if needed.

Paul is a very experienced cyclist and ensures that the rides are safe and varied. His colleagues assist him so that a wide range of skills and levels of fitness can be catered for. He is friendly and knowledgeable and adapts the rides to suit the needs of his customers.

He arranges airport transfers if needed.

Car hire is remarkably inexpensive.  On top of all that, Mallorca is a superb place to visit and to explore by bike!

Michelle”I have just returned from a great 5 days cycling with Paul in Mallorca. I was quitenervous as I was travelling on my own and did not know what to expect but as soonas I met Paul, any concerns I had were immediately put to rest.Paul organised everything for me, from transfers (he collected me from the airporthimself and dropped me back at the end) to accommodation and bike hire. He madesure that all standards were catered for on rides so that everyone had enjoyable(and if they wanted, challenging) rides. I could not have asked for a better experience on my first solo cycling trip and it isall down to Paul and his absolute commitment to making sure you get what youwant from the holiday. I will definitely be back!”He arranges airport transfers, if needed. Car hire is remarkably inexpensive.On top of all that, Mallorca is a superb place to visit and to explore by bike!

Ivan WongI would highly recommend Paul to anyone that wants to go bike riding in Mallorca, atruley top bloke. Thank you, Paul”

Dave, Norwich”Great guy! very friendly, helpful, kept me entertained and made sure I had everything I needed for the duration of my stay. Had the pleasure of riding a full carbon Pinarello for the week on some great routes. Would definitely recommend a trip out with Paul to anyone wishing to take their cycling up a level.All the best mate!”

Jo, Chelle, Sarah & Jude – Carlisle”Paul will do anything for his guests – and his company was fantastic – great bloke, great sense of humour and we will definitely recommend him and hopefully return very soon!”

Paddy O’Kelly”I wanted to write to say thank you for a fantastic 4 days cycling in Mallorca. As a reasonably experienced cyclist I would say that the service you offer is outstanding. Though there are other cycle guide organisations on Mallorca, the personal attention you offer cannot be bettered. It is obvious that first and foremost this is a passion for you, and that passion is really infectious. It is a long time since I enjoyed being on the roads quite as much, a mixture of fun and hard work and a real feeling of improving even over such a short trip.Please feel free to share this testimonial with others. As far as I am concerned, the more people here about your cycle guiding services the better. They will not be disappointed! See you in April.”

Claire Morton”Thank you very much indeed for the stats which make great reading! Thank you also for being such a good guide. They were superb routes and we saw some great scenery”

Stuart McDonald”I went on an early morning 50K ride with Paul. He has a fantastic knowledge of the area, and took us on a route we could never have found on our own. Will hopefully be back soon. Thanks Paul.”

Brynley Davies”Bumped into Paul when hiring a bike at Bike Hire Sancho in Cala Bona – he offered to show me some local routes to help it fit in with my family holiday. Really good of him as I could only get out first thing in the morning but he still made the effort to show me round, knows the area like a local, and a really nice bloke. I run performance training camps and can recommend Paul knows his stuff – look forward to seeing him again in Mallorca sometime soon. Cheers Paul.”

Stephen Johnson”I went out for a 50k ride with Paul last week. Great knowledge of some routes and some very nice hills and rolling countryside. It was nice to be cycling all the time without having to check the map every turn.Will be back again sometime soon. Thanks again Paul!”

Paul Sill”Santuri San Salvador is the best climb I’ve ever done if not the longest !!……If that’s not enough Paul also ideas of transported away days to the northern mountains … Sa Colabra n all for those who would like to suffer!!!Final word …. It’s NOT all in PollensaNext final word…. See yer next year fella!”

Graeme King”This my second year of riding with Paul in Mallorca. nothing is too much trouble for Paul whether you require a short ride or a long ride, he will always make it interesting and enjoyable. The roads in Mallorca are smooth to ride and scenery is fantastic, especially the ride up to Son Salvador. I will certainly be returning next year…Thanks Paul.”

Rick Smith”I rode out with Paul on 3 occasions, it was only meant to be a one off as i was on holiday with the family, but i had such a good time i went back for more! He sorted out a great bike and really tailored the rides to challenge and take in some great scenery. He’s very accommodating on ride times and will work around you if you need an early start as i did. A great bloke with lots of great stories – ill defo be back. Cheers Paul.”

Darren Culverwell”I went out for a couple of rides with Paul in MAY 2013, after making contact through Bike SANCHO. Good ride, good routes, good cafe stops in unspoilt villages. Cheers Paul see you on Boot camp!”

Darryl Jeanes”I rode with Paul for two weeks in July 2013. I am a novice on a bike & Paul taught me so much. In the end we rode over 300 miles together to all parts of Mallorca with some lovely scenery & great climbs. He knows lots of routes to tailor to your standard & all the cafes for the important refuelling stops. Great company, great tutor & top man. Thank you Paul i’ll be back.”

John & Nick”Would definitely like to return and would highly recommend contacting Paul if you want someone local who can and does sort out all the detail at a great price leaving you to enjoy the cycling and the sunshine. Thanks Paul”

AshyePaul arranged for a carbon bike and anything else that was required, which is included in the price. He will also accommodate your needs. Nothing is too much trouble for him. I would also like to thank Paul’s friend, Robb who joined us on each of the days and he also advised was great company.Great company, great tutor & great guy. Thank you Paul.”

If you wish to to book now or have any further enquiries, please do not hesitate to contact us via any of the methods below.